Hey fellow swollen members,

I thought a thread on this topic might help keep us from getting needlessly hurt in our quest for the beef.

Have you been hurt while exercising/ lifting? What happened and has it changed the way you work out?

Stay safe 💪

Happiness is a warm manatee

I managed to fuck up my knee and elbow around the same time. The reason being that I was very sick for two weeks and immediately after that started training with my pre-illness weight despite being quite weakened and of course hurt myself.
My general advice is to not stop lifting altogether*. I stopped completely for some time and things didn't get better at all. Then I started training with higher reps and lower weights instead, really focusing on proper form and I'm completely fine now.
It's also important to warm up properly, especially on heavy compounds. You don't have to do anything fancy, just start with the bar and keep adding weight while decreasing reps. Meanwhile static stretches don't really help and can even hurt one's performance.

*this obviously depends on the injury

Injuries and strains are somewhat common for me, as much physical and tactile work as I do, I'm not the most dextrous person in the world. A sprain here, a pulled muscle there, though I'm not sure if any of it was specifically caused by my workouts, more like general wear and tear. In particular the joint in my left knee is susceptible to getting some kind of inflammation where it feels really weird and swollen so to avoid irritating that I just set aside time to do a slower gentler walk and some exercises that don't involve stressing my legs.

Not workout related but I wear heels frequently and I always have to watch how long I'm up and standing/walking in them because I get some wicked plantar fasciitis.

"stressed" is just "desserts" spelled backwards

I've never had any workout injuries since I'm still pretty new to working out regularly but I have been experiencing some slight pain lately.