Feb 04, 2023, 03:10 PM Last Edit: Feb 04, 2023, 06:37 PM by Guybrush
No, not like a bubble, worse luck for you. This is my attempt to explore a music genre that is everywhere and yet which I have little experience of. I'll be looking at the sort of albums I perhaps - almost certainly - slagged off as a teenager and young man, the kind of things my brother maybe listened to, and stuff that was in the charts. I'll be trying (not very hard, admittedly) to give them a fairer listen, and see if I was too harsh on them in my youth - or perhaps not harsh enough! I may also add in albums I have never heard, just to see what today's music is like. (Spoiler: it's probably crap). Feel free to disagree, comment, send death threats or your credit card details to my Paypal which is...

Be aware, some of my journals are relatively serious. This one will not be. It will be quite tongue-in-cheek and very irreverent and flippant a lot of the time. Many of you may think the albums I feature here are good, or even great. Some of you may have them in your collection. Hell, some of them may now be in MY collection! But I'm approaching this from the standpoint of my teenage self, when I was into metal and rock and really had no time for pop music. Back then, these are the albums I would have never considered listening to, never mind buying. Now, I want to look at them in a little depth and see if they are as bad as I had made them out to be, thirty or so years ago. Please don't take offence; this is just one person's view, and a naive, somewhat conceited one at that, considering how little I actually knew about music at the time.